Tags

,

A fair, young maiden was I at one time
A fair, young maiden was I
And nightly I dreamed of the son of a queen
Whose eyes were the hue of the sky
The hue of the sky, the hue of the sky

And this fair prince would go riding at dawn
And this fair prince would ride
His silhouette stark ‘gainst the death of the dark
A riotous, splendid sunrise
A splendid sunrise, a splendid sunrise

I told him I loved him each bright afternoon
I told him I loved him each eve
He must not have heard all I spoke ‘neath the moon
Or else not my heart he would reave, he would reave

I wrote him a love song to sing at his court
I wrote him a love song to sing
He spared not a frown as the laughed at my gown
And oh, how his silence did sting
His silence did sting, his silence did sting

I ran from the hall, dashing tears from my eyes
I ran from the hall, dashing tears
I risked one backward glance and tripped over a lance
My inadequacy was so clear
It was so clear, it was so clear

I whispered I loved him right into the ground
I whispered I loved him so well
There were none to hear just how mournful my sound
I felt I could sink into Hell, into Hell

And then his strong hands helped me up to my feet
And then his strong hands helped me up
He gave me a smile that bore no hint of guile
And anew, I knew I was in love
I knew I was in love, I knew I was in love

I told him I loved him with his hands in mine
I told him I loved him again
He looked at me kindly with those eyes so fine
And said that he’d rather be friends, just good friends

A fair, young maiden was I at one time
A fair, young maiden was I
And nightly I dreamed of the son of a queen
Whose eyes were the hire of the sky

©2012 Robin Lea Fritche

