Tags

, ,

Some would call him King
And deem his justice swift and fair
Some would call him Knight
And proclaim his prowess rare
I might call him Poet
For the words he doles with care
But in truth I call him Love
His love is with me everywhere

“I am but a hedge knight”
Said my lord when we first met
And were he still a simple hedge knight
He’d ensnare me in his net
A hedge knight might have little more
Than honor, some would say
Well, in his heart he’s still that hedge knight
And he honors me every day

My lord is sweet to look upon
My lord is made of smiles
When he is pleased, he radiates
And all the world beguiles
My lord is true and mighty
The strongest fighter on the field
But with me my lord is gentle
And I cannot help but yield

“I am but a hedge knight”
Said my lord when we first met
And were he still a simple hedge knight
He’d ensnare me in his net
A hedge knight might have little more
Than honor, some would say
Well, in his heart he’s still that hedge knight
And he honors me every day

My lord recognizes
All the work his subjects do
His attention might be subtle
But be assured he does see you
He sings for the unsung
And praises with a giving heart
Whether in court or on battlefield
Or ’round the fire after dark

“I am but a hedge knight”
Said my lord when we first met
And were he still a simple hedge knight
He’d ensnare me in his net
A hedge knight might have little more
Than honor, some would say
Well, in his heart he’s still that hedge knight
And he honors me every day

Yes, a hedge knight might have little more
Than honor, some would say
Well, in my heart he’s still that hedge night
And he honors me every day

©2013 Robin Lea Fritche

