Tags

, ,

Through the heather, sweet and purple
On the hillside, I shall walk
And my true love, he shall meet me
On the hillside, we shall talk

I have missed the sound of his soft words
How his gentle fingers searched my face
He swore to return in a fortnight
And return he shall, to stay

Sun is shining, it is morning
And my skirts are damp with dew
Any moment I shall see him
My brave soldier, strong and true

I have missed the sound of his sweet song
How his gentle lips brushed my hand
He’s been sent off to fight for king and country
And years may pass in that command

Bells are ringing in the churchyard
I have dreamed of such a sound
But I had not then imagined
To lay my true love in the ground

I shall miss the sound of his soft words
How his gentle fingers searched my face
He swore to return to me someday
And return he has, to stay

©2012 Robin Lea Fritche

