Tags

, , ,

Inspired by King Rhys and Queen Gwenhwyvar, Sovereigns of Northshield, and presented at Northshield Pennsic court, August 11, 2016, AS LI.

This was my first attempt at writing in a mode (Phrygian).

At War, the kings gather to discuss strategy
Some think queens on the battlefield inspire only
There are kingdoms with sovereigns who in all aspects rule
In collaboration, as my queen and I do

My queen is a warrior – we fight side by side
Our generals respect her fierceness and pride
But none more than I – she is more than my heart
And these words I spoke to her from our reign’s very start

Our next reign, my love, we will win by your arm
I’ll be your inspiration, as you’ve been mine thus far
As the seasons turn, love, we’ll see our kingdom grow
Let the Known World discover what we already know

We are both more than martial – we create and we serve
There’s no one definition that reflects all our work
We find similarities in subjects and kin
And when we achieve unity, as a kingdom, we win

Before we were sovereign, we were partners in all
These crowns alter not the shape of our call
When my queen wins Crown Tournament, nothing will change
We’ll rule with the same fire that unites us today

Our next reign, my love, we will win by your arm
I’ll be your inspiration, as you’ve been mine thus far
As the seasons turn, love, we’ll see our kingdom grow
Let the Known World discover what we already know

Inspiration can be more than an ideal held high
And apart from the people – inspiration unites
What we accomplish together strengthens every bond
And we’ll lead by example – let the Known World respond

Our next reign, my love, we will win by your arm
I’ll be your inspiration, as you’ve been mine thus far
As the seasons turn, love, we’ll see our kingdom grow
Let the Known World discover what we already know

©2016 Robin Lea Fritche

